Home
EmailRSSFacebookTwitterCommunity Voice
Sign into My Dashboard

Go To Search
City GovernmentDepartmentsOur CommunityI Want To
Click to Home
Concealed Pistol License
Concealed pistol license applications can be obtained at the Burlington Police Department, 311 Cedar Street, Burlington WA 98233, weekdays between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.

Applicants must meet the following requirements for a license to be issued by the Burlington Police Department:

  • Must be 21 years of age or older.
  • Must be a United States Citizen or provide a permanent resident card if you are a permanent resident alien.
  • Must live within the city limits of Burlington. If you do not meet the residency requirement, you must apply with your law enforcement agency of jurisdiction.
  • Must have a photo ID such as a driver's license or ID card for the required background check.
  • If a non-resident of Washington State, a citizen may apply at any law enforcement agency in the state.

A Concealed Pistol License will NOT be renewed, replaced or issued as an original/new license if you have been convicted anywhere of any Felony crime or Crime of Violence, to include Domestic Violence (Assault 4th Degree), Coercion, Stalking and Reckless Endangerment as outlined in the FIREARMS section of the Revised Code of Washington State, Chapter 9.41, or any violation of a Protection Order/No contact Order. If you are in any doubt as to your eligibility to have a Concealed Pistol License, we encourage you to seek legal counsel prior to submitting an application for a Concealed Pistol License. (Fees are non-refundable.)

Anyone wanting any type of Concealed Pistol License will:

  • Read all documents in the application packet.
  • Print all entries on the application documents, except for blocks requiring signatures. Unreadable forms may be rejected and not processed.
  • Make an appointment to return your documents to the Burlington Police Department. Please call (360) 755-0921 to make your appointment.
  • Original/New applicants will be fingerprinted at this time.
  • Pay required fees at this time. (We accept CASH, LOCAL CHECKS AND MONEY ORDERS)
  • NEW/ORIGINAL: $48
  • RENEWAL: $32.00
  • LATE RENEWAL: $42.00 REPLACEMENT: $10.00. NOTE: Licenses/Permits over 90 days past the expiration date will be processed as a "NEW/ORIGINAL LICENSE" as outlined in the RCW 9.41 "Firearms."
  • The applicant will review and sign the license at this time.
  • All license applicants must have a mandatory background check performed according to state and federal requirements, prior to issuing the license. This may take up to 30 days allowed by law.
  • The approved license or letter of rejection will be mailed to the applicant within 30 days.
  • Approved licenses are good for 5 years within the State of Washington.

For more information on Washington State RCWs go to:

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=9.41.070

Changes to 18 U.S.C. 922(g) (9) became effective September 30, 1996. This section of Federal Law makes it unlawful for any person to possess a firearm who has been convicted in any court of domestic violence assault (felony or misdemeanor), regardless of the date of conviction, unless specific firearms rights have been restored.

NOTE: A person shall not be considered to have been convicted of such an offense if the conviction has been expunged or set aside, or is an offense for which the person has been pardoned or has had his firearms rights restored.

This change to federal law differs from Washington State law in that it applies to domestic violence convictions that occurred prior to 07/01/93, whereas Washington State law only applies to those convictions after 07/01/03. Therefore, convictions for domestic violence assault may be prohibitive.

If you have ever been convicted of domestic violence assault and have not had your firearms rights restored, you may be prohibited from firearms possession, even if you are issued a concealed pistol license.

CAUTION: Although state and local laws do not differ, federal law and state law on the possession of firearms may differ. If you are prohibited by federal law from possession of firearms, you may be prosecuted in federal court.

Mike Luvera
Chief of Police
E-mail

Burlington Police Department

311 Cedar St.
Suite B
Burlington, WA 98233

Ph: 360-755-0921
Skagit 911 Center: 360-428-3211
Emergency: 911

Administration Hours
Monday - Friday
8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.



QUICK LINKS

Concealed Pistol Permits

Fingerprinting

Records Requests

Skagit County Crime Map (Internet Explorer Only)

Vacation Check Request